Midnight Talks

I have shifted over here just a few days back. It was cheap and abandoned. No one has lived here for the past year and there are no shops around. No human contact at cheap rates, what else could I have asked for. There has been a black out. It won’t go till the next four hours. I have an exam tomorrow. Candles might do for today. I walk into the kitchen and scavenge for candle and matches.

There is a knock on the door. I walk over and pull the door open.

“Do you have any candles?” The girl from next door. I cannot see her face but I can quite tell it from her voice, besides the odor.

“I’m wondering that too.”

“Do you mind if I can in or you come over? I’m afraid of dark and this is… frightening.” She says.

“Be my guest.” I said and she walks in and latches the door.

I lead her to the sitting area in the living room. I leave her there and go to get my phone or torches or any sort of emergency lights. The batteries have all died out. She stood by the window and then hopped on the window sill her feet dangling three floor above the soil.

“I’m not disturbing you, am I? There isn’t much you could do anyways.” She said looking out of the window.

“No.” I said.

“Join me she said tapping on the window sill.” I stood there frozen wondering how to react. “Are you afraid of heights?” She said looking up at the stars.

“Well, er, I’m not quite-”

“Come on I’m with you.” She said and tapped on the sill again without looking at me.

I’m not afraid of heights, but I’m not quite fond of them too, the black out that engulfed the city, a stranger I secretly admire and three floors of height, I don’t think I want to be sitting on the window sill with my feet dangling out.

“Come, I’m waiting.” She said. I hesitantly walked over and stood behind her. She held my hand and pulled me up until I sat beside her. She took my hand and put it around her. I felt something wet and cold, it was thin.

“I’m sorry, I just took a bath and couldn’t find a towel because lights went out. But you don’t need to be afraid as long as you hand stays.” She said rotating her head slowly until she face me.

“Thanks.” I said having nothing else to say. I haven’t been around someone from years. After my last relationship three years ago, there was nothing I wanted to do.

“I always wanted to be a pilot you know, flying in the sky, talking to birds, hopping on clouds. But, I turned out to be a writer. I write for a very specific community and people seem to love it. You could read me in any language you want, except on screens.” The girl I wanted to talk to ever since I moved in, was telling me everything about her.

“Do you have something to eat maybe?” She asked.

“Okay.” I said and walked over to the kitchen.

“How is it different to be in light?” she asked.

“I don’t get you?”

“I have never seen light. I write in Braille.” She said.

“Oh, I’m sorry to hear that, how did it happen?”

“I was born this way, what do we have by the way?”

“Sandwiches?” I shouted from the kitchen and the lights went on. I stood there with a knife and a bread loaf. She didn’t say anything.

“Sandwiches?” I called out louder. She still didn’t say a word. I walked out and looked for her. She wasn’t there. I looked at her in the room, she wasn’t there too.

“Wait a minute, if she was blind how is she afraid of dark? How does she know there was a black out?” I thought.

I stepped walked out into the passage and knocked at her door. She didn’t respond. I knocked harder, same result. I looked down there was a lock on the door I held it in disbelief. A cold breeze flew. I covered my eyes from dust when I looked at my hand. It was… red. A shadow stood on the dark stairs.

“I cannot be in light.” She whispered.

Made with Square InstaPic

